Latest: >

Search This Blog

TOP facts about Indian Railway

Running the Railways

  • The largest employer in the world is the Indian railway system in India, employing over 1.6 million people.

  • 1873: World`s first metre gauge service begins, Delhi to Rewari. 
  • 1849: Great Indian Peninsular Railway (GIPR) incorporated. A `guarantee system` that assured 5 per cent returns to all British railway companies in India established.
  • 1853: Railways begin in India with private funds and government support.
  • 1868: Calcutta and South Eastern (CSER) suffers flood losses, transfers all lines to government in return for capital costs, becoming the first state owned railways.
  • 1882: Almost 75 railway operations, owned by the private sector and princely states and a variety of track gauges. Post of Director General of Railways (DGR) is created in the Central Public Works Dept (CPD) to coordinate the network.
  • 1889: States takes over Nizam Railways.
  • 1900: GIPR taken over by state.
  • 1901: Based on the recommendations of Sir Thomas Robertson Committee, a Railway Board is set up with three members.
  • 1904: More members included in the Board.
  • 1905: Powers and structure of Railway Board are formalised. It is now under Dept of Commerce and Industry with an independent Chairman.
  • 1907: Govt purchases all major lines and re-leases them to pvt operators
  • 1920: Based on Acworth Committee recommendations govt takes over actual management of all railways and separates railway finances from general finances. This practice is followed even today.
  • 1922: Retrenchment Committee under Lord Inchcape recommends drastic cuts in workforce and expenses.
  • 1922: Railway Board reorganised, overriding powers given to Chief Commissioner railways.
  • 1924: Railway finances separated from general govt budget.
  • 1925: First Railway Budget presented.
  • 1925:EIR Co and GIPR, the largest networks, taken over the state.
  • 1937: The post of Minister for Transport and Communication created. The minister was a civil servant and dealt with the Railway Board.
  • 1951: Zonal grouping of Railways begins.
  • Railways’ First 
  • april 16, 1853, 3:35 pm: 21 gun salute launches first passenger train in India, by Great Indian Peninsular Railway from Bori Bunder to Thane -- 400 passengers, 14 carriages, three engines, Sindh, Sultan and Sahib. Journey time: 1 hour 15 minutes. 
  • August 15, 1854: First train in east India, Howrah to Hoogly. 
  • July 1, 1856: First train in south India, Veyasarapdy (Madras) to Wallajah Road (Arcot). 
  • March 6, 1859: First train in north India, Allahabad to Kanpur 
  • 1862: First princely state-owned line, Dabhol to Miyagam in Baroda. Train pulled by oxen. Later became Baroda State Railways. 
  • August 1, 1864: First train arrives in Delhi from Calcutta, ferried on boats across Ganga in Allahabad 1867: First suburban service begins from Virar to Bombay Backbay. 
  • 1873: World`s first metre gauge service begins, Delhi to Rewari.  
  • Half Ticket, Full Service

  • 1862: 2-tier seating started in III classes.
  • 1871-74: Gas lamps introduced in many passenger carriages.
  • 1872: Air-cooling introduced in I class coaches on GIPR lines.
  • 1874: IV class introduced; coaches with no seats.
  • 1888: AH Wheeler and Co introduces Railway Library series publications.
  • 1905: Lavatories provided in all lower class carriages.
  • 1936: Air conditioning introduced in coaches.
  • 1952: Fans and light mandated for passenger coaches.
  • 1956: III class passengers allowed use of dining car.
  • 1967: II class sleeper coaches for long distance trains.
  • 1974: III class abolished.
  • 1986: Computerised reservation started at Delhi.
  • Going Loco 
  • 1893: First railway foundry set up at Jamalpur.
  • 1895: First locomotive built with old parts at Ajmer workshop.
  • 1899: `Lady Curzon`, first locomotive built in India, at Ajmer.
  • January 26, 1950: Chittaranjan Loco Works (CLW) set up. Builds first steam engine, `Deshbandhu`.
  • 1952: TELCO begins productions of YG locos.
  • 1959: First steam loco designed by CLW.
  • 1961: Diesel Loco Works, Varansi established.
  •  What`s in a Name?

  • January 1, 1882: GIPR station opened to public in Bombay.
  • 1887: Station named Victoria Terminus (VT) after Queen Victoria on her jubliee year.
  • May 4, 1996: VT renamed Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus.
  • IB, near on South Eastern Railway is the shortest station name.
  • Venkatanarasimharajuvariapeta on Southern Railways is the longest station name.
  • The Darjeeling Railway

  • 1800: The Darjeeling Steam Tramway (DST) begins operations on Siliguri-Darjeeling section.
  • 1881: DST becomes Darjeeling Himalayan Railays (DHR).
  • 1915: DHR opens two new branches to Kishengunj and Teesta Valley
  • 1948: DHR is taken over by the State and it became a world heritage site on December 2, 1999.
  • May 2000: Diesel hauling of DHR inaugurated.

  • Inertesting facts about indian railways

    • Shortest station name: Ib near Jharsuguda on the Howrah-Nagpur main line(South Eastern Railway.
    • · Longest station name: Venkatanarasimharajuvariapeta often prefixed with Sri.on the Arakkonam-Renigunta section of the Southern Railway.
    • · Longest run (time): The Himsagar Express running between Jammu Tawi and Kanyakumari, It covers its route of 3751km in 74 hours and 55 minutes.
    • · Longest run for daily train: The Kerala Express has daily service and covers3054 km in its run (in 42.5 hours).
    • · Longest non-stop run (distance): The Trivandrum Rajdhani does not have atechnical halt at Ratlam and, therefore, travels non-stop between Vadodara and Kota(528km), covering the stretch in about 6.5 hours.
    • · Trains with no commercial halts en route: Sampoorna Kranti Exp,HowrahRajdhani, Bombay Rajdhani, Pragati Exp and Pune Shatabdi
    • · Shortest runs: Nagpur - Ajni has scheduled services that are just 3km in distance.This is mainly a service for crew to travel from Nagpur station to the workshop at Ajni.
    • · Highest number of halts: Mail and Express trains [3/99] The Howrah-AmritsarExp. leads in this category with 115 halts.
    • · Busiest Station: Lucknow which caters to as many as 64 trains per day.
    • · Stations straddling state lines: Navapur is a station that is half in Maharashtraand half in Gujarat . Bhawani Mandi station, on the Shamgarh-Kota section of theBombay-Delhi line is half in Madhya Pradesh and half in Rajasthan.
    • · Station with all the three gauges: Siliguri station.


    1. i want to join indian railway recruitment, can you post it on my mail

    2. Hello sir Please Update The Page & give Me The latest Info about The UCIL Recruitment 2014 Please Provide Me The latest info ....


    Thanks for choosing NAUKRI EXPRESS Dear Friends please post your valuable comments by which we can provide good service in future